Select a School...
Select a School

Cole Camp R-1 School District


Distinction in Performance for Impoved Achievement  
“Distinction in Performance for Improved Achievement”
        The Cole Camp R-I School District was recognized by the Missouri Association of School Administrators for Distinction in Performance for Improved Achievement through the Missouri School Improvement Program. The award was presented during a banquet hosted by the Central Regional Professional Development Center on March 25th at the University of Central Missouri. Receiving the award on behalf of the district was Perry Gorrell - Superintendent along with Kristy Craig - Board Vice President and Marty Doogs- Board President.


State FCCLA Leadership Conference
 The Cole Camp FCCLA chapter attended the 2015 State FCCLA Leadership Conference March 22-24 at the Holiday Inn Executive Center in Columbia, Missouri.  While in attendance members competed in STAR Events and attended leadership sessions. 

Ashley Yeater and Alexus Dieckmann participated in Advocacy and received a silver rating.  Brittany Shannon and Emma Weller participated in Interpersonal Communication and received a silver rating.  Savannah Dieckmann and Madison Fisher participated in Illustrated Talk and received a gold rating.  Cameron Snell participated in Sports Nutrition and received a gold rating and was the state winner and has advanced to Nationals in Washington D.C.

Josilyn Harms also attended and served as the chapters voting delegate.  Savannah Dieckmann was installed as State Vice President of Elections and will serve this coming school year.    Advisor Mrs. Donna Smiley also attended the conference. 

Family, Career and Community Leaders of America is unique among youth organizations because its programs are planned and run by members. It is the only Career and Technical Student Organization with the family as its central focus. Participation in FCCLA programs and activities helps members become strong leaders in their families, careers, and communities.


Benton County Grant

The Benton County Community Foundation gave a $1,000 community grant to the Benton County R-I School to help fund their Buddy Pack Program. This was only one of several community grants that were awarded to a variety of organizations throughout Benton County.  The next couple of weeks will have the communities of Lincoln and Warsaw also have recipients receive their grant money. Lynn Eckhoff, the Elementary Counselor, applied for the grant late summer and after learning that she was one of the awardees, was excited to have the additional money to help kids in need.  The Buddy Pack Program has been in existence for over seven years, but like other non-profit programs the moneys have been cut with fewer kids being helped each year.  With the additional monies she will be able to expand the program and help more students in the Cole Camp School.  The Benton County Community Foundation is a non-profit organization.  Presenting the check from the Foundations was board Present Suzie Brodersen, Ethan Newman, and Cheryl Petersen board members.

Pictured is Elementary Principal Kevin Shearer, Ethan Newman, Lynn Eckhoff, Suzie Brodersen, Cheryl Petersen, and Superintendent Perry Gorrell.

Notice of Nondiscrimination
The Benton County R-1 School District's educational and vocational programs and activities are made available to all elementary and secondary students. The Benton County R-1 School is also an equal opportunity employer. The Benton County R-1 School does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, or handicap condition. The Board of Education has implemented a procedure for persons claiming discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or handicap condition and this procedure is a part of the Board policies and may be found in the office of the Superintendent.


  • The Conference Baseball Tournament is April 25th thru 30th. The Bluebirds continue play at home on Tuesday, April 28th at 6:30 p.m.   Tournament Bracket
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to Rileigh Grunden, Mark Cooper and Elizabeth Bryant for placing first at State in 3D Animation and advancing to Nationals in Chicago this summer.
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to the following high school students on being selected "Students of the Month for April": Freshman - Sydney Neas, Sophomore - Christina Hall, Junior - Levi Hare, Senior - Cameron Snell
    Comments (-1)
  • The 2014-15 Sports Awards Banquet will be held Sunday, May 3rd at 6:00 p.m. in the High School Gym.  We will honor all high school athletes that played sports this school year with their letters, pins, and awards.  We will also honor all senior athletes that night as well.  The Athletic Boosters will provide the entire meal.  The meal will be free and we encourage all high school athletes and their families to attend.
    Comments (-1)
  • Middle School students bring home top awards at The Smithton Academic Meet on April 9th. Our students finished first place in 4th, 5th and 6th grades and earned honors of top over all school!!!!
    Comments (-1)
  • Congratulations to the following musicians on earning the honor of competing at State Music Contests on April 30th. Keaton Denney. Darin Oelrichs, Nik Clifton, Alexus Dieckman, Brett Shannon, Meredith Pruitt, Elizabeth Craig and Karlie Tucker.
    Comments (-1)
  • The Cole Camp PTC will be selling retro Bluebird shirts and hoodies this spring. Order forms are available in the elementary office. Thank you for your support.
    Comments (-1)